how hard is it to not pick on me

I always hear about people struggling with bullying at school and from peers and whatever, but I’ve really never experienced it like that. The only possible bullying I’ve gotten from peers was in middle school, and that was once and the kid was a jerkwad who needed his butt kicked. I go through more garbage from my parents than I ever have in school. They don’t respect me when I ask them to stop calling me things and making fun of my nicknames, mainly. (Obviously there’s the whole bit where they’re conservatives who don’t respect my political opinions, and it probably does tie in to the name thing.) Now, for reasons that will go unsaid, I am incredibly sensitive about my name. I hate it, and I have good reasons, but I can’t get them to use a different names for other unsaid reasons. I’ve resigned myself to this name, at least for now. But my bestie (he’s two, and incredibly adorable) has given me a name based off of the one I hate, and that’s perfectly fine, because it’s adorable. But as soon as they hear about it, they start using it as though its a joke and teasing me about it. Naturally, I’m upset, so I ask them to stop. Makes sense, perfectly reasonable request, right? Evidently not, because that prompted more teasing. Now I’m semi-pissed and don’t want to be in the same room as them, which is difficult, since we live together. Really though, if they had just left it, I wouldn’t be upset, and they wouldn’t have gotten upset at whatever I said in response to the aggravation. I just wish parents had more respect for their children, honestly. Home situations would be a lot more tolerable if parents did respect their children.

Leave a Reply

