“Everybody is a…

“Everybody is a genius. But, if you judge a fish by its ability to climb a tree, it’ll spend its whole life believing that it is stupid.” – Albert Einstein

Alright, so, your buddy Coolio over here has been kinda stressed out lately, and I thought I should use it to help someone out.

Lately, my schoolwork and family and friends and life have all been piling themselves on top of me and I’m suffocating. Every weekend, all I get is Saturday (usually) and maybe a couple hours on Sunday. And after the aforementioned suffocation for five days straight, you can understand that I need a nice, long break to cool down. However, when I start to cool down, things go downhill. I get lazy. I know that sounds like a bad excuse, I hate the word, too, but that’s what happens. I start to get comfortable in my happy fun TV shows and food and books and stuff like that, but once I’m comfortable there, I don’t get out of that for a good while. Like when you first lie down in bed after a long, hard day and the mattress and pillow fit perfectly against your aching body and you’re finally relaxing–and suddenly you realize you need to use the restroom. Urgently. That’s what it’s like for me. Except I usually don’t actually get out of bed and I take the risk of making a mess and sleeping in it, and then I hate myself afterwards because my failure reeks off of me and spreads for miles. (I don’t literally do that. If I have to go, I have to go; no exceptions.) I am maybe a week into the current grading period and I already have late work in at least two of my 7 classes (with 2 of them being fine arts, and two of them just don’t give homework often (and actually, I’m gonna have late work in one of those classes, too, if my evening goes the way I think it’s gonna go)). This is where I usually start to suffocate again.

So, I spent the past few hours trying to motivate myself to get the work done, as you do. And, as you do, I failed and ended up procrastinating some more. When I finally decided to get ready for bed, I kinda broke. Something snapped. But not an angry snap, more like a defeated snap. I guess some might say “crumbled” but it felt like a snap to me. I ended up crying for what felt like forever (in reality, it was only about fifteen minutes, thank goodness).

This is when those “pointless” tumblr posts decided to surface in my memory. The posts that say “You can do it” “You matter” “You are not your failures” and things like that. But this quote from Einstein is what flashed neon colors in the front of my mind. “Everybody is a genius. But, if you judge a fish by its ability to climb a tree, it’ll spend its whole life believing that it is stupid.” Everybody is a genius. You, me, your neighbor, your roommate, that friend you don’t talk to anymore, everybody. In your own way, you are a genius. Just because you can’t do something like write an essay or debate or take a standardized test or cook well or act or draw or sing or do math or remember facts or raise a child, that doesn’t make you a failure. (Granted, if you can’t raise a child, that’s a little more serious than being unable to write an essay. I would suggest thinking it through extra carefully before you go make one. Do you have the funds? The space? The time and energy? Do you even like children, or are you just doing this for your partner? I’m not an expert on this, but if you can’t raise a child, you shouldn’t have one. Discuss it thoroughly with your partner and your doctor to see if you’re ready.) You can do something. Sometimes, yeah, you have to do these things. It is near impossible for me to write an essay, and if you engage me in an argument, you will most likely win, and I don’t think anyone should trust me in the kitchen; but I can do other things. I ADORE creative writing. When I have a good enough idea, I can make some pretty good stuff, if I do say so myself. And when my voice isn’t scratchy or my throat clogged up (dangit allergies), my voice sounds like Ursula gave me Ariel’s seashell to wear around my neck. (If you don’t get that reference, I will cry.) And if anyone ever tells you that the things you’re good at or are passionate about aren’t good enough, you punch them in the throat and step over their cowering form towards your dreams. (Don’t actually punch anyone in the throat, you might get in trouble or something, and I don’t want to be held accountable.) You are special in your own way, and just because you can’t climb that tree doesn’t mean you can’t swim upstream. Please, please, please don’t hate yourself because society’s standards don’t fit you. You need to love and encourage yourself, surround yourself with supportive people, and forget society’s stupid standards because they are not important. YOU ARE. YOU MATTER. DON‘T YOU EVER THINK OTHERWISE.

Stay happy, beautiful. You’ll make it through. You can do it. Don’t be afraid. You can do it. ~Coolio out

3 thoughts on ““Everybody is a…

Leave a Reply

